Open Accessibility Menu

Before You Leave

Schedule a Free consultation

We are available 24/7

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.

Tragic Car Crash Claims Three Lives

Torem & Associates
In a tragic accident near Huron, a mother and her two children lost their lives. The woman, who had recently moved from Fresno to Huron, was a passenger in a car driven by Aijalon Greely. Greely was headed southbound on Lassen Avenue when he drove off the side of the road. The vehicle overturned and threw the mother and her two children out of the vehicle. According to the California Highway Patrol, no safety restraints were in use in the car at the time of the crash.

Seat Belts Saves Lives

It is estimated that 12,802 lives were saved in 2014 by the use of seat belts. Car seats reduce the risk of death for infants by 71% and toddlers by 54%. Booster seats reduce the risk of serious injury by 45% when compared to using a seat belt alone for children between the ages of 4 and 8 years.

It will never be known if the deaths in the above accident could have been prevented by the use of safety restraints; however, it is an example of why we should always wear seat belts and use child safety restraints every time we are in a vehicle. Safety restraints do not always prevent fatalities in car accidents; however, using safety restraints can greatly reduce your risk of death and injury in the event of a car accident.

It Is the Law

The minimum fine for failing to wear a seat belt is $162 for anyone over the age of 16 years. If a child under the age of 16 years is not properly restrained, the parent is fined a minimum of $465. If the parent is not in the vehicle with the child, the driver of the vehicle is fined.

California also has mandatory child restraint laws. Any child under the age of eight years must be secured in a car seat or booster seat appropriate for the child’s age in the back seat of a vehicle. Children and infants under two years of age must be in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs at least 40 pounds or is at least 40 inches tall. You can find more information about California’s child seat and child restraint laws from the California Highway Patrol. Parents should know how to choose the right car seat/booster seat for their child and how to properly install and use the child restraint.

Fresno, CA Motor Vehicle Accident Attorneys

The car accident attorneys of Torem & Associates hope that you and your family remain safe on our roads and highways. However, if you are injured in a motor vehicle accident in Fresno, CA or the surrounding Central California Valley, we are here to help you with a personal injury claim.

Contact Torem & Associates by calling (888) 500-5000, chat with a representative online, or use our convenient online contact form to schedule a free consultation.

Categories:

Free Consultation

Call (888) 500-5000 to learn about legal options
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.